Multi-hazards approach and COVID-19: Flattening the curve and early recovery lessons

Online
Organizer(s)
Association of Pacific Rim Universities

Coronavirus disease (COVID 19) has caused devastating damage to the whole world and shown how important it is to prepare for a pandemic as hard as other disasters. Some countries are in the early phase of recovery after going through extremely difficult times and experiences. This webinar aims to share these experiences and the lessons learnt from the response and recovery by different sectors: UN agencies, governments, the private sector, and academia.

This webinar is organized by the APRU-IRIDeS Multi-Hazards Program.

The APRU Multi-Hazards program has been advocating for partnership and collaboration with various sectors and preparedness for different types of disasters, not only the ones caused by natural hazards. This webinar will be a valuable opportunity to discuss how to collaborate with different sectors to prepare for various types of disasters.

Speakers

  • Christopher Tremewan, Secretary General, APRU
  • Loretta Hieber Girardet, Chief of Regional Office for Asian and the Pacific, UNDRR
  • Yong-kyun Kim, Director General, National Disaster and Safety Control Center, Ministry of Interior and Safety, South Korea
  • Antonia Yulo Loyzaga, President of the National Resilience Council and Chairperson of the International Advisory Board of the Manila Observatory
  • Takako Izumi, Associate Professor, International Research Institute of Disaster Science, Tohoku University and Director of APRU Multi-Hazards Program

Moderator

  • Rajib Shaw, Professor, Graduate School of Media and Governance Keio University

Dates and Time

June 16, 2020: 8 pm Pacific Time (US & Canada)

June 17, 2020: 1 pm (Sydney)/12 pm (Tokyo/Seoul)/11 am (Hong Kong& Manila)/10 am (Bangkok)

This webinar is open to the public and will be recorded for those who cannot attend live.

 

Share this
Also featured on
Attachments
Keywords
Themes