Webinar: African Science and Technology Advisory Group for Disaster Risk Reduction research contributions to reinforce resilience in the face of COVID-19 and beyond

Online
Organizer(s)
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction - Regional Office for Africa
Partners Enhancing Resilience for People Exposed to Risk
African Union Commission

The ongoing coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic is an unprecedented event in human history, requiring the scientific community to work as one to support societies during and beyond this global crisis. The pandemic impacts go well beyond the health sector including all the sectors threatening the failure of the entire system which may cause a social collapse as the global economy comes apart, societies may, too. These cascading impacts show the inter-connection of risk, underlining the crucial need for a concerted effort to accelerate disaster risk reduction.

This webinar is meant to contribute to global efforts to build more resilient societal systems that are capable to prevent such crises in the future. It is also to encourage experts for more scientific research on the analysis of lessons learned and use the recovery as an opportunity for stronger and longer-term resilience.

The event will take place at the following times:

  • 15:00 EAT (Nairobi, Addis Ababa)
  • 14:00 CEST, EEST, SAST (Geneva, South Africa, Cairo)
  • 12:00 GMT (Dakar, Accra)
Share this
Also featured on